Swiss Rolls (Attempt One)

IMG_2394So I am up to Swiss rolls!  Swiss rolls to me look like a lighter Victoria Sponge Cake.  Which they probably are.  Looking over the recipe it talks about making the mixture light and frothy.  Well if you have ever tried to do that by hand with a whisk you know it will take you an age to get there.  So I finally broke out the mixer.  The mixer I have is my mothers that she got as a wedding gift in 1964.  I love it because of its retro feel, that and it still works heavenly!!FullSizeRender (5)

Now to the swiss rolls themselves.  It says to bake for ten minutes at 425 F (220C).  I love cooking in English cookbooks because I am teaching myself the metric system which I wish we used here so badly!

So as you can see I didn’t quite get the mixture level in the pan, IMG_2398again practice makes perfect.  I am also concerned at how thick the bread is. It seems I got the mixture too frothy. So lucky I have two other Swiss Rolls to make besides this. I’m concerned about rolling at this point since it isn’t level but we will see!

So as you can see DISASTER!!  But like I say practice makes perfecFullSizeRender (6)t.  It is obvious I got the mixture too frothy and thick.  The sponge itself is delicious!!!! It was just too thick to roll.  I would try again tonight, but unfortunately I am out of eggs so tomorrow we will try again!!! I will not move on until I master this!

One thought on “Swiss Rolls (Attempt One)

Leave a comment